Chapter 1.2 – Foreshadowing

(Note: I don’t know if there is any foreshadowing in this, I’m just using writing terms as chapter titles)

Hello!

Welcome back to the Bennet Legacy, where I ask you please not to get used to me updating so quickly and in such rapid succession. I’d rather not perpetuate the lie that I’m some sort of reliable updater, I’m just in a flow, you know?

Last time, we introduced our Founder, started writing, and then began the descent into alcoholism which, thankfully, was cut short by my game crashing. This chapter is much longer as a result, and there are no crashes, thank God.

My last save happened to be in the middle of this guy arguing with Anna for NO REASON.

Dion: Seriously? You can’t just talk to me!
Anna: Well excuse the fuck out of me.

I’m definitely changing the blog’s icon to this face.

Luckily, the animosity didn’t last.

Dion: Actually, you’re pretty cool, dude
Anna: Sick bro! Hur hur.

“Hur hur” is the only possible method of laughing that I imagine goes along with the “Shaka Bra!” animation, along with copious amounts of surfer-lingo. Rad and righteous and all that jazz.

Unfortunately, that one friendly interaction was too much for Dion the meanie-pants, who promptly ran off, leaving our Founder to think very normal thoughts.

Anna: I like trees.

First an alcoholic, and now a wannabe stoner? This Legacy’s off to a great start.

At least we’re somewhat putting things back to how they were pre-crash.

Anna: I hope that celebrity sees me drinking and thinks I’m cool.

Said celebrity is Tosha, the shuffleboard lady from last chapter. She hung around all night dancing, but if memory serves, she didn’t retake her previous position as shuffleboard addict.

This time, however, instead of drunken rambling directed towards the poor unfortunate bartender, Anna’s brooding trait took hold of her.

Anna: The sand flows in the hourglass, but does time flow in the same way? Is time linear, or is it simply our perception of it? Isn’t this the second playthrough of these moments? How can time be real when I know I’ve lived through this all before?

…I’m no longer convinced that it’s only alcohol in that keg.

With that thought well and truly pondered, it was back upstairs to annoy this guy.

Anna: I’m pretty sure I have a heart. I’ve never seen it, but I can feel it there.
Ti-Ning: If you’ve never seen it, how do you know you don’t have two hearts?

Please don’t give her ideas.

Mostly because giving her something new to think about seems to end up with yet another trip to the keg.

Anna: I have to drink twice as much now that I have two hearts!

That’s not how that works in the slightest.

This time around, however, the alcohol in her system seemed to send her technophobia into overdrive.

Anna: I HAVE TO DESTROY THE KARAOKE MACHINE

Spoiler: she didn’t, and she had to pay §5 because she got caught.

Also, if you’re wondering who that is at the shuffleboard table:

It’s Raven, the bartender.

Raven: I am the Queen of the shuffleboard!

She stayed there all night, which was pretty lucky, considering it meant that Anna wasn’t being plied with cocktails. If nothing else, it saved us a hell of a lot of money.

Wait, you’re leaving? You only had two drinks!

Anna: I’ve got things to do, places to go, people to see.

Those things being having dinner, places being her shithole of a home, and people being the raccoon making a mess of the bin. Classy.

Well, it’s not a cocktail, but our Founder still decided that a liquid dinner was the way to go.

And then it was into the cocoon we went, for the first night of the Legacy. It might not be clear in this photo, but her eyes don’t close all the way, and it’s kind of terrifying.

Anna: Maybe this house isn’t so bad.

You’re only saying that because sleeping outdoors in summer gave you a tan, you moron.

But there was no time to dwell on that, it was straight to the library.

Anna: Yaaaay.

You disgrace the name of bookworms everywhere.

Look who’s back! Hey, Lucia, did you miss us?

Lucia: Not in the fucking slightest.

Don’t lie, I see that thought bubble. You loveeeee u-

Lucia: Go check on your Founder, idiot.

What, why?

First book written, and it’s a Hit! We’re making the tiniest amount of headway into Anna’s LTW, thank the Gods.

Anna: I done a writing. Can I eat now?

Obviously.

I don’t remember the name of it, but this little coffee shop across the road from the library was ADORABLE.

And the barista wasn’t half-bad either.

Raymundo: (sigh) Welcome to the coffee shop, where all your problems can be solved with just a taste of our fabulous home brew.

Poor man, they’re not paying him nearly enough. Also, isn’t there a book written about you?

Raymundo: I used to have adventures, but then I took an arrow to the knee was cursed to never feel emotion again. Now I work in customer service.

That’s quite a leap. Also, I’m not apologising for the Skyrim joke. Sometimes the classics are the best.

Out in the sideyard, I spotted some locals to ogle. Well, they’re not really locals, but I need to stop calling them immigrants, it’s just asking for trouble.

Oh shut up.

Charity: Don’t mind me, just looking heartbreakingly gorgeous while chatting to my wife whom I’m in a perfectly happy marriage with.

As much as I’m not above breaking up a couple, these two are disgustingly in love, which you’ll see in a bit.

Inside, I was hideously disappointed to be reminded that the brownies aren’t actually as big as they are in the display case. I want a huge brownie 😦

Raymundo: Those ones aren’t real, they’re made of plastic.
Anna: Can I still eat one?

And risk killing off my Founder on Day 2 of the entire Legacy? God no. Pop out a few kids first and then we’ll see about feeding you macroplastics. They can’t make you any dumber.

Turns out the service in this place is utter horseshit, and the customers have to do their own dishes.

Raymundo (off-screen): Make sure to give it a good scrub, or else my boss will never lift the curse.
Anna: I’m tempted to just break it.

I wouldn’t blame you if you did.

Downstairs in the basement, there’s another SimFest performance place, where the proprietor is apparently so unused to company that she sat reading the whole time, barely acknowledging the presence of someone else around.

Still, that’s the perfect environment for writing!

Back upstairs, these two were flaunting their happiness to anyone who might see them.

Maya: Here, my love, white roses to symbolise the purity of my feelings for you.
Charity: Oh darling, I could just kiss you.

Gross.

Charity: And here, sweetheart, I also got you flowers!
Maya: Oh, and they match my skin! How delightful!

Flesh-coloured flowers, nothing says romance like it!

The marriage mustn’t be going that great, though, since one of them came down and – despite the MULTIPLE EMPTY CHAIRS – chose to sit beside Anna and crack open a book.

Maya: So…Anna, right? I hear you’re looking for a Spouse.

Yeah, and yours is still upstairs. Get gone.

Luckily, that distraction didn’t stop Miss Anna from success:

Not a Hit or Bestseller, but it’s good enough! And that’s over §100 a week in royalties now, not bad.

Writing a whole other book at once is apparently dirty, filthy work, leading to stink fumes and sweat patches, so Anna took her disgusting self across the road to the gym for a shower, putting her knee through the glass in the process.

This guy followed in not long after, but too bad he’s MARRIED 😡

Fernando: Happily, too.

God, can’t one of you people be single? Or be willing to divorce for the sake of a Legacy? Is that too much to ask???

Behind him came one of his two sons with his husband, a teen called Rodney who had a very odd reaction upon looking at his dad.

Rodney: He’s just so manly and impressive!

On second thoughts, maybe it’s good that his dad is unavailable, if this is what he produces.

Freshly clean and showered, it was back across the road to ‘The Big Win Bar’, yet another pub.

Anna: I have to watch my feet going up stairs, or else I might fall.

And she’s not even drunk yet.

Evening, barkeep!

Elissa: Oh God no, I’ve heard about you.

And I’m not too impressed with you, so let’s see who else is around.

Oh my.

Rena: Don’t mind me, just playing pool. I’m not a model.

Maybe not, but you’re kind of adorable.

Naturally, Anna is immediately drawn to the homeland.

Anna: I have a new house!
Elissa: Kid, I couldn’t care less. You orderin’ or what?

As if the answer could be ‘no’.

Rena: I’ll order something too!
Anna: Woman after my own heart.

Drink in hand, Anna once again wandered off to the shuffleboard table, cancelled out the action to play, and instead stood there drinking.

Anna: Need two hands.

You could set the drink down.

Anna: …No.

Anna: ‘Kay *hic* now I can play!

By yourself? You could invite Rena to play.

Actually, she might be a bit busy.

Rena: Mmmmmmnnnggghh God I love you, hamburger.

I feel like I shouldn’t be watching this.

With the hamburger well and truly devoured, Rena was indeed invited to play.

Anna: She’s so pretty, like a… like a… a sheet of music!

I would say “Don’t give up your day job,” but similes should really be par for the course now.

I guess she really is as pretty as a sheet of music, huh?

Which I guess means it’s time for the requisite onslaught of questions:

Balls.

Double balls.

Triple ba- actually, I don’t know what that means.

(MasterController tells me she’s a Resort Worker, so essentially an NPC. Still, it means she’s not rich)

Anyway, who cares? She’s fine with a flirt.

Anna: You look like the Mona Lisa.

I guess she does a bit… but if the Mona Lisa were purple.

Turns out when a Brooding Sim talks about their feelings, and the recipient is a Hopeless Romantic, they fucking LOVE it.

Anna: I have feelings, you know.
Rena: TAKE ME NOW, ANNA BENNET

Now, at this point, the ‘First Kiss’ option should’ve been coming up, but wasn’t (possibly because they weren’t friends yet), and I am notoriously impatient when it comes to these things, so…

…yeah, I saw it coming.

But what’s the next step, when the strange girl tries to kiss you and you yell at her for it?

Ask her for money, of course!

I missed the main reaction, but those clenched fists tell it all.

Rena: I don’t get what the problem is? Aren’t you a rich, successful, Legacy Founder? Can’t you spare some change?

Come back in a few generations, and then maybe we’ll have money to throw around. Or maybe not, because God knows they might still be broke.

Freshly rejected, Anna returned to the bar to drown her sorrows.

Anna: Just give me whatever will make me feel better.
Elissa: …Meet me in the alleyway out back when my shift finishes. I’ve got what you need.

That is NOT what she needs.

Elissa: Fine. Have a cheesesteak.
Anna: Oh boy!

Well, it has made her feel better, so at le- wait a minute. §25? What did I JUST say about being broke?

Apparently not enough, because she then wanders off to sabotage the karaoke machine. You know, the thing that cost us money last time because we got caught?

We’re never getting a house.

Oh. Never mind.

Anna: I done it.

You sure did.

Anna: Hey, did you see what I did to that karaoke machine? I really showed it who’s boss, huh?
Rena: I feel bad about asking you for money now. You’re clearly deeply in need of help.

She really does give off that vibe, doesn’t she?

Anna: The only help I need is your lips on mine.
Rena: That’s the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard.

Seriously?

Maybe not.

Rena: Sorry, not right now. I’m about to piss myself.

Huh, what a weird excuse.

Anna: Well, in that case, take these flowers.
Rena: Oh, they’re the same colour as my skin!

Anna: There, there… don’t cry.
Rena: I’m just *sniff* really upset about the karaoke machine.

Oh, I guess it wasn’t an excuse.

And with that lovely experience of teleporting urine, it was time to go home.

And back to sleep on the cold hard ground, with trash fumes and files mere metres from Anna’s nostrils and other orifices.

Midway through the night, the hail started. Personally, I wouldn’t have just kept sleeping, but then I’m not essentially living in poverty, so what do I know?

Despite the hail, she still managed to get another tan? I don’t know.

Anna: Did you have to take a picture of me on the toilet?

Yeah lol.

I was going to say “Haha liquid breakfast, amiright?” but I’m positive it was noon by this point. She really is me in Sim form.

With the rejection of last night a forgotten memory, however, it was time to head back to the library to keep on truckin’ literature-style. This time, someone was waiting for our arrival.

Anna: God, it’s so hard to have fans, it’s like I’m a movie star.

I’m positive she’s not a fan.

But she is GORGEOUS. Holy hell.

Myra: HELL YES, IT’S ANNA BENNET!
Anna: See? Movie star.

Well, I stand corrected.

Or maybe not. Yeowch, that’s gotta hurt.

Luckily, Anna has a bit more going for her now, considering she’s I think level 2 in her career and a few levels up in the skill, so it was pretty quick for Myra’s tune to change.

Anna also netted a celebrity star from this, which was pretty handy-dandy.

Unfortunately, Myra started pelting her with mean interactions before quickly running away.

Myra: Lol, bye loser.
Anna: Can I go to a club? I want to drink.

You really need to stop using alcohol to solve your problems. Besides, we’ve got work to do!

Anna: *grumble* stupid overlord *grumble* bitch can’t even work on her own novels *grumble*

UNCALLED FOR.

Wa-hey! Still not a Hit or Bestseller, but I have it noted that with this book (number 3), she’s earning §168 a week, which is… 4% of her LTW completed. Great.

Anna: I wrote another book. Can I take you on a date?

Obviously, it was a yes, and then it was off to yet another pub.

Anna: I’m gonna drink so much tonight!

You really need to stop. It’s getting worrying now.

Anna: Soda! I’m gonna drink so much soda!

Suuure you are.

After all, I always feel the need to fight someone when I’m all hopped up on Pepsi Max.

Rena: Now that you’ve written another book, you must have enough money for a huge house, right?
Anna: She has no idea how poor writers are, does she?

She’ll find out soon.

Anna: What?

Nothing!

Yeah, it sure is a mystery where we’re going with this.

At this point, Anna rolled a wish to go off to the cinema, and since it was 6pm I figured they could head off.

I was immediately reminded how cute Hopeless Romantics are.

Rena: My love! I’m coming!

Thank God I know everything works out well or this would actually be kind of creepy.

Once they arrived, Anna decided to be all cool and edgy and different and go in through the back door*.

Anna: Main entrances are for squares!

*PLEASE don’t take that out of context PLEASE GOD I am BEGGING-

*ahem* Sorry. Meanwhile, Rena decided to also be cool and edgy and different by NOT GOING IN.

Rena: Movies are for squares!

Instead, she hung around the lot for the whole time Anna was in the cinema, even going down to the basement area where WFC’s observatory and film set are. There she spotted a guy having the time of his life beside a child that is not his.

Rena: Should I call the police?

I think it might be best.

Oh, you’re out.

Anna: I now have to ponder the deep insightful meanings of that film.

It was a chick flick called ‘Somber Bloomings’. I doubt there was that much meaning in it.

Besides, she had a date to find, which led to this reunion.

Rena: I missed you, my darling!

You could’ve gone in with her.

Rena: Let us never be separated again!

At this point, it was a lot of just fulfilling wishes from Anna and watching the love bloom. Or, in Rena’s case, watching the obsession grow.

Anna: Wow, I still can’t believe we kissed!
Rena: Is it obvious that I’ve glued our hands together?

That’s why you don’t use PVC glue, kids*.

Rena: Look, my love, that man just got a promotion!
Anna: Oh, really?
Rena: (Reaches in her pocket for the ultra-strength superglue)

Absolutely not, hands to yourself.

*I’m kidding, please don’t do this.

Luckily, they were right outside a restaurant (where that guy just got his promotion from, incidentally), so when Anna got hungry, the date moved indoors.

Rena: You idiot, Rena Rowell! How could you forget your trusty superglue?
Anna: Are you coming?
Rena: Yes, honey!

Luckily for Rena, it seems her victim love interest was on the same page… sort of.

Anna: Do you want to make this official?
Rena: Yes! I wish to never be parted from you!

She better not have put glue on her hand again.

Anna: Well, in that case, do you wanna just get married?
Rena: Do I ever!

You just glued your hand to your face, didn’t you?

Rena: …Maybe.

With her hands forcibly unstuck, the ceremony took place right outside the restaurant.

Rena Bennet (née Rowell) moved into the household on Week 1, Day 4 (Wednesday), at 1:09am. She brought in no money since she was basically a homeless NPC, but they did receive §1874 in gifts. She came with a magic wand and a romance book titled “Out of the Wastelands of Your Heart.” Her only skill is Mixology, but she has it mastered.

I’ll do a full title card for her next chapter once she’s had a makeover, but I’ll leave you with this:

Walls! A roof! Also no windows and only one light fixture, but we only had §15 left after this. Hey, it’s better than nothing.


I hope Rena is as pretty to everyone else as she is to me. Truthfully, Anna was considered straight until I saw her in the pub, and then I MasterControllered her to be a big ol’ bisexual. Rena was swiftly turned into a lesbian by the same means, but the attraction never happened. Eh, whatever, I’m fine with forcing Sims into relationships, I have no real morals in this game.

Hopefully, it won’t take me too long to get the next chapter up, especially because I’ve already played through a bit of it and we’ve already got about 50 screenshots taken and (spoiler alert) Generation 2 on the way. Exciting times!

Hope you enjoyed, and Happy Simming!

Leave a comment